Jazz Music Library

The current release (2013) includes 10,752 albums and 133,660 tracks. The list of artists is enormous, ranging from past greats to musicians performing and recording today, including: Abbey Lincoln, Andre Previn, Art Farmer, Benny Carter, Bill Evans, Billy Strayhorn, Bix Beiderbecke, Cannonball Adderley, Charlie ByrdCharlie Parker, Chet Baker, Chuck Mangione, Coleman Hawkins, Count Basie, Dave Brubeck, Dizzie Gillespie, Ella Fitzgerald, Eric Dolphy, Gerry Mulligan, Grover Washington, Jr., John Coltrane, Karrin Allyson, Lester Young, Marian McPartland, Miles Davis, Oscar Peterson, Ramsey Lewis, Rosemary Clooney, Sarah Vaughan, Sonny Rollins, Stan Getz, Thelonious Monk, Tony Bennett, Wes Montgomery, Zoot Sims, and a long list of others. Liner notes to all the albums are included (in PDF format) as well as static URLs to each track and album in the database.

Jazz Music Library will be the largest and most comprehensive collection of jazz available online—with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres, including Chicago jazz, New Orleans Jazz, 1920s jazz, big bands, acid jazz, Latin jazz, and more. At launch, the collection includes works licensed from legendary record labels, including Audiophile, Concord Jazz, Contemporary Records, Fantasy, Jazzology, Milestone, Nessa Records, Original Jazz Classics, Pablo, and Prestige.

Coverage: 
1920s-present
Support: 

Library service desk: 828-262-2820 or Ask a Librarian or Music Library 828-262-2388

Access: 

Access is restricted to ASU students, faculty, and staff.

Number of simultaneous users: unlimited; Terms of Use

Full Text: 
Yes
Vendor: 
Alexander Street Press
Mobile: 
Yes
Database Types: 
Images, Music and Video