Encyclopedias and Dictionaries Databases

Database Description Coverage More Info
Artemis Literary Sources

Artemis Literary Sources provides combined access to Literature Criticism Online (10 multidisciplinary series) and to Literature Resource Center.

1400's-present more info
Britannica Online

Britannica Online® delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information.

1998-present more info
CHEMnetBASE

Provides full-text online access to 12 chemistry reference titles, including the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.

Current more info
CQ Press Library

Includes six titles: CQ Almanac; CQ Researcher; CQ Weekly; Political Handbook of the World; Politics in America; and Supreme Court Yearbook.

1945-present more info
CQ Reference Books at Sage

CQ Reference Books at Sage Knowledge is a collection of government and politiical eBooks.

2010-present more info
Credo Reference

Credo Reference provides access to hundreds of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations) from over 70 academic publishers.

2000-present more info
Gale Virtual Reference Library

Provides full text access to more than 100 reference sources, primarily encyclopedias.

2000-present more info
Legal Information Reference Center

Legal Information Reference Center™ contains more than 310 full-text legal reference publications and thousands of legal forms.

1999-present more info
Literary Reference Center

Contains full text for 31,098 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism, nearly 140,000 author biographies (including 20,000 in-depth bios),

Current more info
Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online contains the full text of the 34-volume The Dictionary of Art with over 45,000 articles compiled over a period of 15 years.

Prehistory-present more info
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Biographies of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.

Romans to 21st Century more info
Oxford English Dictionary

The OED traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and

The last millennium-present more info
Oxford Handbooks Online

Each handbook takes an aspect of its discipline, explaining the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and setting the agenda for how those debates might evolve.

2000-present more info
Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online includes the most comprehensive scholarly encyclopedia of music in the English language. Coverage of music of all times and places.

Ancient times-present more info
Oxford Reference

Oxford Digital Reference provides access to nearly 100 online encyclopedias covering history and culture, literature and language, arts, law, and the social sciences.

Ancient world to present more info
Political Reference Suite

Includes seven titles: Congress and the Nation; Historic Documents Series; Political Handbook of the World; Politics in America; Supreme Court Yearbook;

1945-present more info
Sage Knowledge

Sage Knowledge provides full text access to more than 150 social science encyclopedias and over 100 handbooks.

1994-present more info
Salem History

Provides full text access to subject encyclopedias, primarily about American history.

1700s-present more info