Images, Music and Video Databases

Database Description Coverage More Info
African American Song

16,000 audio tracks of historical recordings from a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others.

20th Century more info
Alexander Street Press Collection

Alexander Street Press is a publisher of online collections and videos for scholarly research, teaching, and learning.

1860-present more info
American History in Video

Commercial and governmental news, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

1500s-present more info
American Song

Allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys.

pre-1960 more info
Appalachian State University Digital Collections

These collections consist of rare and historic material and are made available through the efforts of Belk Library and the departments of Special Collections, Web Services, and University Archives.

1889-present more info
ARTstor Digital Library

The collection currently contains over one million images, including the following collections (see the info page):

Prehistory to the present more info
Berg Fashion Library

The Berg Fashion Library offers fully cross-searchable access to a range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books,

1600-present more info
CAMIO

A growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.

Varies more info
Classical Music Library

Classical Music Library is a fully searchable classical music resource—a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings.

Medieval to present more info
Contemporary World Music

Contemporary World Music will contain 50,000 tracks that deliver the sounds of all regions of the world.

20th Century more info
Counseling and Therapy in Video

Provides access to actual therapy sessions, re-enacted therapy sessions, and scripted sessions designed by counseling professionals to illustrate common issues and scenarios.

Current more info
Dance in Video

Dance in Video contains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.

20th Century-present more info
Digital Public Library of America

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

12th Century-present more info
DigitalNC

DigitalNC is the online home for materials presented by the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center.

1800s-present more info
DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music)

DRAM provides on-demand streaming access to CD-quality audio (192kbps Mp4), complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives.

1800's-present more info
Jazz Music Library

The current release (2013) includes 10,752 albums and 133,660 tracks.

1920s-present more info
Music & Performing Arts

Music & Performing Arts combines music audio and video that spans all time periods, and includes hundreds of thousands of seminal artists.

Medieval to present more info
National Geographic Magazine Archive (1888-1994)

Featuring the complete archive of the magazine to the mid-1990s, National Geographic Magazine Archive, includes every page and every photograph, available for fulltext searching, reading,

1888-1994 more info
Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library is a comprehensive collection of classical music available online.

1150-present more info
Naxos Music Library Jazz

Naxos Music Library Jazz offers close to 60,000 tracks of jazz from over 5,200 albums, with over 7,000 jazz artists represented.

1900's-present more info
Naxos Video Library

Naxos Video Library brings you an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries.

1990-present more info
OneClickdigital Audio Books

OneClickdigital provides access to over 1,200 audiobooks, including fiction, nonfiction, classics and popular titles.

Current more info
Open Video Project

"The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other communities."

1897-present more info
Opera in Video

Opera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.

Renaissance-Present more info
PBS Streaming Videos

A selection of nearly 250 PBS programs, including films from award winning documentarian Ken Burns, and series such as Scientific American Frontiers, American Experience, and Frontline.

1990s- more info
Popular Music Library

Popular Music Library contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music.

1905-present more info
Primal Pictures

Derived from real human data, this range of software provides thousands of 3D anatomical structures, clinical slides, dissections, animations and much more.

Current more info
Primal Pictures: Anatomy and Physiology

Primal Pictures: Anatomy and Physiology includes 19 modules on the human body with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations,

2010-present more info
Rock's Backpages

Rock's Backpages is the ultimate archive of music journalism, with over 24,000 articles on artists from Aaliyah to ZZ Top, on all genres from rockabilly to hip hop.

1960's-present more info
Smithsonian Global Sound

The latest release of Smithsonian Global Sound (2013) includes 2,949 albums, equalling 42,405 tracks.

20th century more info