Adair Sanders: A Novel Experience

Adair Sanders: A Novel Experience

A fundraising dinner for University Libraries’ Student Employee Scholarship Program

Adair Sanders

Thursday, October 11 at 6:30pm

Meadowbrook Inn and Conference Center, Blowing Rock, NC

Tickets are $85 each with part of the proceeds going to support the University Libraries’ Student Employee Scholarship Program.

The University Libraries at Appalachian State University will sponsor “A Novel Experience” fundraising dinner. The event speaker will be mystery series writer, Adair Sanders.

Adair Sanders was born in Chattanooga, Tennessee in an era where girls of a certain social class were expected to marry well and never work. Exhibiting her penchant for being contrary, Adair left the confines of an all-girl education to pursue a psychology degree and a law degree from the University of Tennessee. For the next thirty years – give or take a few – Adair enjoyed disproving the agenda her parents had designed for her, becoming the first female member of a men’s dining club in Knoxville, Tennessee and then the first female partner in an old-line law firm in Jackson, Mississippi all the while, more or less successfully, balancing a home life of husband and children.

After the death of her father in 2007, Adair felt called to write the story of her family’s generational dysfunction. Although still practicing law, Adair spent her evenings writing, and thus was birthed her first book, a memoir, aptly entitled “Biologically Bankrupt.” Three years later, having exited her firm in early retirement (an act which greatly peeved many of her male partners), Adair decided to take a dialogue writing class at the John C. Campbell Folk School in Brasstown, NC. Low and behold, two days into the week-long class, Allison Parker, trial lawyer extraordinaire, made her appearance known to Adair, and the rest is history.

“As Sick As Our Secrets, An Allison Parker Mystery”, was released at the end of 2010, inviting the reader to follow the spunky Alabama lawyer as she uncovers a delicious trail of sex, blackmail and murder. Book two in the mystery series, “What Comes Around”, was released December 2015. The third book in the series, “Ashes to Ashes”, was released December 2016 and the fourth book of the series, “Suffer The Children” released January 2018.

Adair resides in Brevard, NC where she is a founding member of the Brevard Authors Guild and a current member of the North Carolina Writer’s Network.

Tickets are $85 each with part of the proceeds going to support the University Libraries’ Student Employee Scholarship Program. For more information, contact Lynn Patterson at 828-262-2087 or email

Copies of Adair Sanders books are available in the University Bookstore and will be on sale at the event.