Databases for Geography and Planning

Having trouble accessing a database? Report a problem.

Database Description Coverage

CIAO publishes a wide range of scholarship including working papers from research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences,

1991-present
More info…

CIAO publishes a wide range of scholarship including working papers from research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences,

1991-present
More info…

Provides citations, with some abstracts, to more than 3,000 sources including articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, and book chapters about public affairs.

1972-present
More info…

Provides indexing for over 12,000 academic journals, proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions, from three databases:

1898-present
More info…

Contains more than 11,000 academic jounals, the majority in full text and peer-reviewed, and podcasts and transcripts from major news sources.

1980-present
More info…

Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals, including more than 7,300 peer reviewed titles. Indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 12,500 journals.

1980-present
More info…

Based upon the 1998 print edition of The Columbia Gazetteer of the World, which had 163,000 entries, this revised online edition adds some 7,000 new ones, with many revisions to existing

Current
More info…

Credo Reference provides access to hundreds of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations) from over 70 academic publishers.

2000-present
More info…

Empire Online contains primary source documents that span five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires.

1492-2007
More info…

Contains citations from more than 1,500 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,094 active core titles) as well as more than 100 monographs.

1940s-present
More info…

GeoRef contains citations to over 22,000 titles from journal articles, books, theses, conference proceedings and reports.

1785-present
More info…

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data.

1940-present
More info…

Sage Knowledge provides full text access to more than 150 social science encyclopedias and over 100 handbooks.

1994-present
More info…

Full text access to more than 1,200 journals from the Elsevier Science journal collection, indexing for 1,300 more.

1960s-present
More info…

SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) lets non-technical users quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business and marketing data.

1980-present
More info…

The World Development Indicators are compiled from officially-recognized international sources providing 331 indicators, from agriculute to urban development, covering 209 countries.

1960-present
More info…

Contains over 50 million records cataloged by OCLC member libraries throughout the world: Appalachian State University Library is a member (OCLC member code=NJB).

1000 BC-present
More info…