Databases for Global Studies

Having trouble accessing a database? Report a problem.

Database Description Coverage

Provides citations, with some abstracts, to more than 3,000 sources including articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, and book chapters about public affairs.

1972-present
More info…

This database contains full text articles from over 500 scholarly journals and and indexing and abstracts from 2,900 journal titles.

1989-present
More info…

Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals, including more than 7,300 peer reviewed titles. Indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 12,500 journals.

1980-present
More info…

Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations. Covers U.S. and Canadian history.

1955-present
More info…

Provides full text access for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.

1886-present
More info…

This collection provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China’s interaction with the West.

1793-1980
More info…

Based upon the 1998 print edition of The Columbia Gazetteer of the World, which had 163,000 entries, this revised online edition adds some 7,000 new ones, with many revisions to existing

Current
More info…

Contemporary World Music will contain 50,000 tracks that deliver the sounds of all regions of the world.

20th Century
More info…

FBIS Daily Reports include English-language, full-text broadcasts and news transcripts—translated as needed—from around the world.

1941-1996
More info…

This edition of GFD presents reported or estimated data on the total external debt of all low- and middle-income countries.

1970-present
More info…

Information for each country comes from a variety of sources, including the publisher of Global Road Warrior, World Trade Press, governement data and reports, and selected publications.

Present
More info…

Provides citations with abstracts to over 1,700 journals,book and media reviews, and dissertations.

1955-present
More info…

The Making of the Modern World digital collection presents more than 65,000 titles from the period 1460-1914, and 466 pre-1906 serials.

1450-1914
More info…

Provides information on 50000+ companies, 215 countries, 2000+ industries, live news feeds, 500 new comment and news articles per week, details of 3,000+ financial deals per month.

Current
More info…

Project Muse provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more in the humanities and social sciences.

1996-present
More info…

Offers full-text and full-image articles for 13 large American daily newspapers and two daily British Newspapers (The Guardian and The Observer)

1764-2005
More info…

The USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive allows users to search through and view more than 54,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide.

1915-present
More info…

The latest release of Smithsonian Global Sound (2013) includes 2,949 albums, equalling 42,405 tracks.

20th century
More info…

Sociological Abstracts indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines.

1952-present
More info…

The World Development Indicators are compiled from officially-recognized international sources providing 331 indicators, from agriculute to urban development, covering 209 countries.

1960-present
More info…