Databases for Music

Having trouble accessing a database? Report a problem.

Database Description Coverage

Music & Performing Arts combines music audio and video that spans all time periods, and includes hundreds of thousands of seminal artists.

Medieval to present
More info…

Music Index covers more that 850 music periodicals from more that 40 countries.

1975-present
More info…

RILM includes all formats of scholarly works--articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, films and videos, and conference proceedings.

1967-present
More info…

Allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys.

pre-1960
More info…

Allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys.

pre-1960
More info…

Allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys.

pre-1960
More info…

Provides citations to articles and essays from over 1,000 journals, monographic series, reports, commentaries, and review essays.

19th century-present
More info…

Classical Music Library is a fully searchable classical music resource—a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings.

Medieval to present
More info…

Contemporary World Music will contain 50,000 tracks that deliver the sounds of all regions of the world.

20th Century
More info…

DRAM provides on-demand streaming access to CD-quality audio (192kbps Mp4), complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives.

1800's-present
More info…

Containing 27,000 entries and over 6,000 new entries, the online edition of the Encyclopedia of Popular Music includes 50% more material than the print Third Edition, and is part

1900-present
More info…

The 10-volume set of The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music contains over 9,000 pages of material and covers: v.1 Africa; v. 2 South America, Central America, and the Caribbean; v.

1997-2001
More info…

IIMP provides citations with abstracts to more than 300 international music periodicals from over 20 countries. IIMP also includes retrospective coverage from 99 periodicals.

1874-present
More info…

The current release (2013) includes 10,752 albums and 133,660 tracks.

1920s-present
More info…

News, business information, medical and health topics, and law-related resources

1990s-present
More info…

An international index to choral scores for documentary research and pedagogy.

12th century-present
More info…

Limited to 10 simultaneous users

Naxos Music Library is a comprehensive collection of classical music available online.

1150-present
More info…

Limited to 7 simultaneous users

Naxos Music Library Jazz offers close to 60,000 tracks of jazz from over 5,200 albums, with over 7,000 jazz artists represented.

1900's-present
More info…

Limited to 5 simultaneous users

Naxos Video Library brings you an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries.

1990-present
More info…

Oxford Music Online includes the most comprehensive scholarly encyclopedia of music in the English language. Coverage of music of all times and places.

Ancient times-present
More info…

Oxford Music Online includes the most comprehensive scholarly encyclopedia of music in the English language. Coverage of music of all times and places.

Ancient times-present
More info…

Oxford Music Online includes the most comprehensive scholarly encyclopedia of music in the English language. Coverage of music of all times and places.

Ancient times-present
More info…

Covers the New York Times late edition (East Coast) (1980-present), the New York Times Magazine (1997-present), and the New York Times Book Review (1997-present).

1980-present
More info…

Opera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.

Renaissance-Present
More info…

The Oxford Companion to Music offers over 8,000 articles across an extraordinary range of subjects: composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms an

1400's-present
More info…

The Oxford Dictionary of Music brings together over 12,500 entries covering musical subjects of all kinds including entries on composers, performers, conductors, musical terms and forms,

Ancient times-present
More info…

Oxford Music Online includes the most comprehensive scholarly encyclopedia of music in the English language. Coverage of music of all times and places.

Ancient times-present
More info…

This database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 395 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 160 of the indexed journals.

1990s-present
More info…

Rock's Backpages is the ultimate archive of music journalism, with over 24,000 articles on artists from Aaliyah to ZZ Top, on all genres from rockabilly to hip hop.

1960's-present
More info…

The latest release of Smithsonian Global Sound (2013) includes 2,949 albums, equalling 42,405 tracks.

20th century
More info…