Databases by type: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Having trouble accessing a database? Report a problem.

Database Description Coverage

AccessScience is an authoritative online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines.

2000-present
More info…

Britannica Online® delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information.

1998-present
More info…

Includes six titles: CQ Almanac; CQ Researcher; CQ Magazine; Political Handbook of the World; Politics in America; and Supreme Court Yearbook.

1945-present
More info…

CQ Reference Books at Sage Knowledge is a collection of government and politiical eBooks.

2010-present
More info…

Provides access to the CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics

Current
More info…

Credo Reference provides access to hundreds of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations) from over 70 academic publishers.

2000-present
More info…

Gale Literary Sources provides combined access to Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online and to Something About the Author Online.

1400's-present
More info…

Provides full text access to more than 100 reference sources, primarily encyclopedias.

2000-present
More info…

Oxford Art Online contains the full text of the 34-volume The Dictionary of Art with over 45,000 articles compiled over a period of 15 years.

Prehistory-present
More info…

Contains full text for 31,098 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism, and nearly 140,000 author biographies.

Varies with topic
More info…

Gale Literary Sources provides combined access to Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online and to Something About the Author Online.

1400's-present
More info…

Literature Resource Center offers up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 150,000 writers in all disciplines,

Varies by Publication
More info…

Oxford Music Online includes the most comprehensive scholarly encyclopedia of music in the English language. Coverage of music of all times and places.

Ancient times-present
More info…

Oxford Music Online includes the most comprehensive scholarly encyclopedia of music in the English language. Coverage of music of all times and places.

Ancient times-present
More info…

Oxford Music Online includes the most comprehensive scholarly encyclopedia of music in the English language. Coverage of music of all times and places.

Ancient times-present
More info…

Oxford Art Online contains the full text of the 34-volume The Dictionary of Art with over 45,000 articles compiled over a period of 15 years.

Prehistory-present
More info…

One concurrent user

Biographies of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.

Romans to 21st Century
More info…

The OED traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and

The last millennium-present
More info…

Each handbook takes an aspect of its discipline, explaining the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and setting the agenda for how those debates might evolve.

2000-present
More info…

Oxford Music Online includes the most comprehensive scholarly encyclopedia of music in the English language. Coverage of music of all times and places.

Ancient times-present
More info…

Oxford Digital Reference provides access to nearly 100 online encyclopedias covering history and culture, literature and language, arts, law, and the social sciences.

Ancient world to present
More info…

Political Handbook of the World provides thorough and accurate information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system.


2015-present
More info…

Reference Universe provides access to thousands of online and print subject encyclopedias, handbooks, etc. available in Belk Library.

1990-present
More info…

Sage Knowledge provides full text access to more than 150 social science encyclopedias and over 100 handbooks.

1994-present
More info…

Provides full text access to subject encyclopedias, primarily about American history.

Ancient times to present
More info…

Science in Context provides access to reference content, magazines, journals, news sources, experiments, videos, audiofiles, and more.

2000-present
More info…