Databases by type: Newspapers

Having trouble accessing a database? Report a problem.

Database Description Coverage

Digital facsimile images for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. Each newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

1800-1899
More info…

Primary sources for such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more.

1827-1998
More info…

Provides more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.

1800-1922
More info…

Includes more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.

1690-1922
More info…

From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. 

1828 - 2016
More info…

Covers 357 publications in the Appalachian region of the U.S. including local and regional newpapers, television news transcripts, and web-only sources.

1998-present
More info…

Previously part of British Newspapers, 1600-1950

British Library Newspapers delivers a wide range of local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries.

1700-1950
More info…

Covers over 200 Canadian newspapers including the complete available backfile for some newspapers, providing full text access to the articles, columns, editorials and features.

1977-present
More info…

Premium articles are available

The Chronicle of Higher Education is the primary source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.

1989-present
More info…

This publication is an indispensable resource for anyone wanting to understand the context of global trade and finance.

1996-present
More info…

Gale NewsVault searches across a range of historical newspaper and periodical collections. It includes over ten million page images spanning four hundred years.

1604-2006
More info…

Gale Primary Sources searches 18th Century Collections Online (ECCO), 19th Century Collections Online (NCCO), the Making of the Modern World, and Sabin Americana.

1500-1926
More info…

Harper's Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper

1857-1877
More info…

The collection features over 200 Spanish-language newspapers published in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.

1808-1980
More info…

International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Je

Current
More info…

Latin American Newspapers provides access to more than 280 Latin American newspapers published between 1805 and 1922. Featuring titles from 20 countries in the region.

1805-1922
More info…

Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

1975-present
More info…

Coverage of the Los Angeles Times newspaper from Nexis Uni.

1985-
More info…

Contains the complete paper cover-to-cover of every issue, with full-page and article images in PDF format.

1881-1986
More info…

Covers the New York Times late edition (East Coast) (1980-present), the New York Times Magazine (1997-present), and the New York Times Book Review (1997-present).

1980-present
More info…

Contains the complete paper cover-to-cover of every issue, with full-page and article images in PDF format.

1851-2015
More info…

For free access to the NYT website, create a personal account using your App State email address.

Current
More info…

Index to the Raleigh News & Observer newspaper for the years 1926-1992. The newspaper content is located in the microforms section on the lower level of Belk Library.

1926-1992
More info…

NewsBank is a full-text news resource consisting of more than 1,000 regional, national and international newspapers. Includes access to over 100 hundred North Carolina newspapers.

1998-present
More info…

NewsBank North Carolina provides full text access to over 100 North Carolina newspapers.

1985-present
More info…

Newspaper Source Plus provides full text coverage for 730 national & international newspapers.

2000-present
More info…

ProQuest Newsstream offers access to the full text of over 1,300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from throughout the world. 

1972-present
More info…

LexisNexis has replaced LN Academic with Nexis Uni

Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

1975-present
More info…

Digital facsimile images for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. Each newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

1800-1899
More info…

Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection. 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 North Carolina county newspapers.

1764-1999
More info…

NoticiasFinancieras is a news service of the IMS Group, produced in conjunction with 34 of the largest publishing organizations in Latin America.

2004-present
More info…

Offers full-text and full-image articles for 13 large American daily newspapers and two daily British Newspapers (The Guardian and The Observer)

1764-2005
More info…

Readex AllSearch is a streamlined platform for efficiently searching across Readex's historical collections.

1690-1999
More info…

Regional Business News provides access to 75 regional business publications including journals, newspapers and newswires, and includes Business North Carolina.

1970-present
More info…

Previously part of British Newspapers, 1600-1950

Represents the largest single collection of seventeenth and eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library. 

1600-1800
More info…

The Times Digital Archive (London) provides access to the entire newspaper, with all news articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos, editorial and commentary, and features.

1785-2011
More info…

Wall Street Journal; Eastern Edition

The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news.

1984-present
More info…

Wall Street Journal; Eastern Edition

The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news.

1889-1994
More info…

The Washington Post has been known for its national political coverage, international reporting, and investigating reporting.

1996-present
More info…

The Washington Post has been known for its national political coverage, international reporting, and investigating reporting.

1877-1995
More info…

WestlawNext offers access to statutes, cases and regulations of all fifty states as well as all federal jurisdictions.

1790-present
More info…