Databases for Geography and Planning

Best Bets

CIAO publishes a range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, foundation-funded research, proceedings from conferences, journals, and policy briefs.
Provides citations, with some abstracts, to more than 3,000 sources including articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, and book chapters about public affairs.

Also Useful

Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
Collections range from digitized manuscripts (Beowulf and Leonardo da Vinci’s Notebook) and illuminated manuscripts, to an extensive collection of maps from around the world.
An encyclopedia of geographical places and features, with over 170,000 entries.
Provides access to hundreds of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations) from over 70 academic publishers.
Contains primary source documents that span five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires.
Full text journal articles on agriculture, ecology, renewable energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, environmental technology, law, and policy, and more.
Contains citations to over 22,000 titles from journal articles, books, theses, conference proceedings and reports in the geology and earth sciences.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data.
Full text access to more than 200 encyclopedias and over 100 handbooks in the social sciences and related subjects.
Full text access to more than 1,200 journals from the Elsevier Science journal collection, and indexing for 1,300 more.
Compiled from officially-recognized international sources providing 331 indicators, from agriculute to urban development, covering 209 countries.
Lets you search the holdings of thousands of libraries using precision search features, view detailed results, and link to University Libraries' holdings.