Databases for Global Studies

Best Bets

CIAO publishes a range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, foundation-funded research, proceedings from conferences, journals and policy briefs
Provides citations, with some abstracts, to more than 3,000 sources including articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, and book chapters about public affairs
This database contains full text articles from over 500 scholarly journals and indexing and abstracts from 2,900 journal titles

Also Useful

Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals, including more than 7,300 peer reviewed titles
Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations
Collections range from digitized manuscripts (Beowulf and Leonardo da Vinci’s Notebook) and illuminated manuscripts, to an extensive collection of maps from around the world
Provides full text access for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications
This collection provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China’s interaction with the West
Based upon the 1998 print edition of The Columbia Gazetteer of the World, which had 163,000 entries, this revised online edition adds some 7,000 new ones, with many revisions to existing entries
3.5 million music tracks that deliver the sounds of all regions of the world
Unique collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London
Comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world’s known living languages; currently contains over 7,000 profiles
English-language, full-text broadcasts and news transcripts—translated as needed—from around the world
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history
This edition of GFD presents reported or estimated data on the total external debt of all low- and middle-income countries
Information for each country comes from a variety of sources, including the publisher of Global Road Warrior, World Trade Press, governement data and reports, and selected publications
Provides citations with abstracts to over 1,700 journals,book and media reviews, and dissertations
The Making of the Modern World is a digital collection of primary sources covering the history of Western trade
Provides information on 50000+ companies, 215 countries, 2000+ industries, live news feeds, 500 new comment and news articles per week, details of 3,000+ financial deals per month
Explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia
Project Muse provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more in the humanities and social sciences
Full-text and full-image articles for 13 large American daily newspapers and two daily British newspapers
Search through and view more than 54,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide
More than 3000 albums and 45,000 tracks representing musical trditions from all over the globe
Sociological Abstracts indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines
This archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society
The World Development Indicators are compiled from officially-recognized international sources providing 331 indicators, from agriculute to urban development, covering 209 countries