University Libraries

Databases for Native American Studies

  1. Home
  2. Research
  3. Databases
  4. Databases for Native American Studies

Best Bets

America: History and Life with Full Text
Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
More info
Anthropology Plus
Provides citations to articles and essays from over 1,000 journals, monographic series, reports, commentaries, and review essays.
Access Note: 
Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
More info
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Sources include books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and U.S. and Canadian government documents.
Access Note: 
Limited to 1 user at a time.
More info
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
Presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact.
More info
Indigenous Newspapers in North America
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the U.S and Canada.
More info

Also Useful

American History in Video
More than 7,000 videos including commercial and governmental news, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
More info
Archive of Americana
Features over 1,375 newspaper titles from all 50 states, more than 100,000 books, broadsides and pamphlets, and much more.
Access Note: 
Now part of Readex AllSearch.
More info
Archives Unbound
Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents.
More info
Art Full Text
Includes nearly 170 full-text periodicals, and indexes thousands of English and foreign-language periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, dissertations, and art reproductions.
More info
Art Index Retrospective
Covering content for more than 55 years of art journalism, this retrospective resource includes articles, interviews, reviews and much more from over 600 publications.
More info
Music & Performing Arts
Combines music, audio, and video that spans all time periods, and includes hundreds of thousands of seminal artists.
More info
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Offers full text and full image articles for 13 large American daily newspapers and two daily British newspapers.
More info
Smithsonian Global Sound (Music Online)
More than 3,000 albums and 45,000 tracks representing musical traditions from all over the globe.
More info