University Libraries

Databases for State and Local Information

  1. Home
  2. Research
  3. Databases
  4. Databases for State and Local Information

Best Bets

Newsbank North Carolina
NewsBank North Carolina provides 222 news sources from North Carolina, from 1985 to present, updated daily.
More info
North Carolina Digital Collections
These collections contain over 158,000 historic and recent photographs, state government publications, manuscripts, and other resources on topics related to North Carolina.
More info
Hurricane Helene Disaster Relief Resources
Resources to assist North Carolina citizens, libraries, and others impacted by the devastation of Hurricane Helene, put together by the State Library of North Carolina.
More info

Also Useful

Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
More info
African American Communities
Presents multiple aspects of the African American community, focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.
More info
America's Historical Newspapers
Includes more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
More info
American Periodicals Series Online
Covers over 1,100 periodicals published between 1740 and 1940.
More info
Data-Axle Reference Solutions
Find data about U.S. companies. Identify company ownership and sales volume. Research local businesses and markets.
More info
Digital Library on American Slavery
Offers a searchable collection of public records concerning enslavement.
More info
DigitalNC
Digital versions of primary sources from cultural heritage institutions around North Carolina.
More info
Education Law in North Carolina
For North Carolina school officials and administrators, legal information pertinent to the management of schools and school systems.
More info
LawHelpNC
Find information and links about your legal rights, the law, the courts, legal forms and more.
More info
NC Health Info
Online guide to quality health and medical information and local health services throughout North Carolina.
More info
NC Health Info Español
NC Health Info tiene por objetivo ayudarlo a tomar decisiones informadas sobre atención médica.
More info
NCPedia
Information about North Carolina, its history, people, government, and educational institutions.
More info
NC LIVE Home Grown eBook Collection
Provides access to fiction and nonfiction content from North Carolina publishers.
More info
NCWorks Online
Employment tools for job seekers in North Carolina. Search jobs, create résumés, find education and training.
More info
Newspaper Source Plus
Provides full text coverage for 730 national and international newspapers, 16 North Carolina newspapers, and TV and radio news transcripts (2000-present).
More info
North Carolina General Assembly
Provides access to NC statutes and session laws, bills and legislation, committee assignments, audio broadcasts of House and Senate sessions, the legislative calendar, and a citizen guide.
More info
North Carolina Historic Newspaper Collection
Contains 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 North Carolina county newspapers (1764-1999).
More info
North Carolina Maps
Comprehensive, online collection of historic maps of the Tar Heel State.
More info
North Carolina Periodicals Index
Index of over 60 journals and magazines published in North Carolina.
More info
North Carolina State Government Publications Collection
Provides access to current and historic publications produced by North Carolina state government.
More info
Our State Magazine
North Carolina’s premier travel, food, and culture publication, available in full text online.
More info
Sanborn Maps
Provides digital access to 11,173 large-scale maps of 158 North Carolina towns and cities, drawn to a scale of 50 feet to an inch.
More info
State Data Center
Includes North Carolina population, economic, and income data as well as county profiles and rankings.
More info
WestlawNext
Offers access to statutes, cases, and regulations of all fifty states as well as all federal jurisdictions (1790-present).
More info