Databases for Africana Studies

Having trouble accessing a database? Report a problem.

Database Description Coverage

Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations. Covers U.S. and Canadian history.

1955-present
More info…

Provides citations with abstracts to over 1,700 journals,book and media reviews, and dissertations.

1955-present
More info…

MLA covers folklore, languages, linguistics, and literature. Provides over one million citations for items from more than 4,400 journals and series published worldwide.

1926-present
More info…

This database contains full text articles from over 500 scholarly journals and and indexing and abstracts from 2,900 journal titles.

1989-present
More info…

African American Archives provides over one million pages of original historical documents pertaining to the African American experience.

1672-1941
More info…

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.

1840's-2010
More info…

This collection was developed with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) as part of an effort to preserve serials related to African American religious life and culture.

1829-1922
More info…

Primary sources for such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more.

1827-1998
More info…

Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

1750-1900
More info…

Provides more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.

1800-1922
More info…

Includes more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.

1690-1922
More info…

Sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, this collection of documents brings to life American history from the times of the earliest settlers until the end of World War II.

1493-1945
More info…

Provides citations to articles and essays from over 1,000 journals, monographic series, reports, commentaries, and review essays.

19th century-present
More info…

The Archive of Americana features over 1,375 newspaper titles from all 50 states, more than 100,000 books, broadsides and pamphlets, and much more.

1639-1980
More info…

Art Abstracts indexes over 400 English and foreign-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Includes nearly 120 titles in full text.

1984-present
More info…

The collection currently contains over one million images, including the following collections (see the info page):

Prehistory to the present
More info…

Empire Online contains primary source documents that span five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires.

1492-2007
More info…

FBIS Daily Reports include English-language, full-text broadcasts and news transcripts—translated as needed—from around the world.

1941-1996
More info…

JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of academic journals (over 1,000) in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines.

Coverage is the beginning of the journal until two to five years ago.
More info…

Provides citations, with some abstracts, to more than 3,000 sources including articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, and book chapters about public affairs.

1972-present
More info…

Offers full-text and full-image articles for 13 large American daily newspapers and two daily British Newspapers (The Guardian and The Observer)

1764-2005
More info…

Slavery and Anti-Slavery is a thematically organized, historical archive devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective.

1490-1896
More info…

Online primary source materials including manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and other documents for the study of slavery, abolition and social justice.

1490 - 2007
More info…

The latest release of Smithsonian Global Sound (2013) includes 2,949 albums, equalling 42,405 tracks.

20th century
More info…

Sociological Abstracts indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines.

1952-present
More info…