University Libraries

Databases for Appalachian Studies

  1. Home
  2. Research
  3. Databases
  4. Databases for Appalachian Studies

Best Bets

America: History and Life with Full Text
Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
More info
JSTOR
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
More info
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes journal articles, books, and other resources on folklore, languages, linguistics, and literature.
More info
Mountain People: Life and Culture In Appalachia
This collection consists of the diaries, journals, and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans, and travelers.
More info
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines, providing abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications.
More info

Also Useful

African American Communities
Presents multiple aspects of the African American community, focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.
More info
American Music (Music Online)
Allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past.
More info
American Periodicals Series Online
Covers over 1,100 periodicals published between 1740 and 1940.
More info
Anthropology Plus
Provides citations to articles and essays from over 1,000 journals, monographic series, reports, commentaries, and review essays.
Access Note: 
Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
More info
Archive of Americana
Features over 1,375 newspaper titles from all 50 states, more than 100,000 books, broadsides and pamphlets, and much more.
Access Note: 
Now part of Readex AllSearch.
More info
Archives Unbound
Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents.
More info
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
Indexes millions of nineteenth-century articles, books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers, and archives.
More info
Indigenous Newspapers in North America
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the U.S and Canada.
More info
Library Catalog
Holdings for Appalachian State, UNC-Asheville, and Western Carolina University.
More info
Music & Performing Arts
Combines music, audio, and video that spans all time periods, and includes hundreds of thousands of seminal artists.
More info
New York Times (Nexis Uni)
Covers the New York Times late edition (East Coast) (1980-present), the New York Times Magazine (1997-present), and the New York Times Book Review (1997-present).
More info
Newspaper Source Plus
Provides full text coverage for 730 national and international newspapers, 16 North Carolina newspapers, and TV and radio news transcripts.
More info
North Carolina Periodicals Index
Index of over 60 journals and magazines published in North Carolina.
More info
Project Muse
Provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more, in the humanities and social sciences.
More info
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Offers full text and full image articles for 13 large American daily newspapers and two daily British newspapers.
More info
Smithsonian Global Sound (Music Online)
More than 3,000 albums and 45,000 tracks representing musical traditions from all over the globe.
More info
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Contains House and Senate Documents and House and Senate Reports, usually from congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation.
More info
Washington Post
Newspaper known for its national political coverage, international reporting, and investigative reporting.
More info
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Lets you search the holdings of thousands of libraries using precision search features, view detailed results, and link to University Libraries' holdings.
More info