Databases for Economics

Having trouble accessing a database? Report a problem.

Database Description Coverage

Provides full text to nearly 500 journals plus citations, with abstracts, to over 600 journals, books, and working papers.

1969-present
More info…

Abstracts and full-text (in .pdf) of working papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research.

1998-present
More info…

Full text access to more than 1,200 journals from the Elsevier Science journal collection, indexing for 1,300 more.

1960s-present
More info…

The Economics Research Network (ERN) distributes quality research (journals, working papers, and forthcoming papers) in economics currently covering 44 subject areas.

1994-present
More info…

Full text for more nearly 4,000 business publications, and citations with abstracts to 1,000 more business titles.

Full text 1991-present | Indexing 1905-present
More info…

Provides full text access for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.

1886-present
More info…

CIAO publishes a range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, foundation-funded research, proceedings from conferences, journals and policy briefs.

1991-present
More info…

FRED® is a database of over 267,000 economic time series from 80 sources.

1913-present
More info…

This publication is an indispensable resource for anyone wanting to understand the context of global trade and finance.

1996-present
More info…

Now called Gale eBooks

Provides full text access to more than 250 reference sources, primarily encyclopedias.

2000-present
More info…

GeoFRED® allows you to create, customize, and share geographical maps of data found in FRED® (Federal Reserve Economic Data).

1970-present
More info…

This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history.

10200 BCE-present
More info…

This edition of GFD presents reported or estimated data on the total external debt of all low- and middle-income countries.

1970-present
More info…

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data.

1940-present
More info…

JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of academic journals (over 2,000) in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. 

Coverage is the beginning of the journal until two to five years ago.
More info…

Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

1975-present
More info…

The Making of the Modern World digital collection presents more than 65,000 titles from the period 1460-1914, and 466 pre-1906 serials.

1450-1914
More info…

Provides citations, with some abstracts, to more than 3,000 sources including articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, and book chapters about public affairs.

1972-present
More info…

RePEc: Research Papers in Economics provides bibliographic citations to working papers, journal articles, books, and book chapters, many in full text.

1969-present
More info…

Provides full text access to more than 1,500 peer reviewed journals in a wide variety of academic discplines.

1990s-present
More info…

Wall Street Journal; Eastern Edition

The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news.

1984-present
More info…

The World Development Indicators are compiled from officially-recognized international sources providing 331 indicators, from agriculute to urban development, covering 209 countries.

1960-present
More info…