Databases for Gender Studies

Having trouble accessing a database? Report a problem.

Database Description Coverage

Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations. Covers U.S. and Canadian history.

1955-present
More info…

Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.

1972-present
More info…

Includes primary sources for the study of gender history, women’s suffrage, the feminist movement and the men’s movement.

1800-present
More info…

Provides citations with abstracts to over 1,700 journals,book and media reviews, and dissertations.

1955-present
More info…

LGBTQ+ Source (formerly LGBT Life with Full Text) provides full text access to over 130 journals, indexing for 200 more, as well as access to more than 170 full-text monographs/book

1990s-present
More info…

Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals, including more than 7,300 peer reviewed titles. Indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 12,500 journals.

1980-present
More info…

Includes more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.

1690-1922
More info…

Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents.

1500-present
More info…

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

1990-present
More info…

Core scholarly journals, ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.

1800s-present (2-5 yr embargo)
More info…

North American Women's Letters and Diaries (NWLD)  includes the immediate experiences of 1,017 women, as revealed in approximately 150,000 pages of diaries and letters, and manuscripts.

Colonial times-1950
More info…

Project Muse provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more in the humanities and social sciences.

1996-present
More info…

Offers full-text and full-image articles for 13 large American daily newspapers and two daily British Newspapers (The Guardian and The Observer)

1764-2005
More info…

Sociological Abstracts indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines.

1952-present
More info…

Includes original documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire, and colonial territories, and a finding aid to women's studies resources in The National Archives at Kew.

1900-1970
More info…

This archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society.

1800s-1999
More info…