Databases for Health and Medicine

Having trouble accessing a database? Report a problem.

Database Description Coverage

PubMed provides access to MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine database of citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and

1950-present
More info…

CINAHL Complete provides indexing of the top nursing and allied health literature, including more than 5000 journals.

1937-present
More info…

Contains Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and other databases.

The Cochrane Library is associated with the evidence-based practice movement in health care. 

Current
More info…

Google Scholar provides access to scholarly articles, conference papers, preprints, theses, books, and technical reports.

1990's-present
More info…

The comprehensive international content of the database is drawn from websites, journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, etc.

1900-present
More info…

Derived from real human data, this range of software provides thousands of 3D anatomical structures, clinical slides, dissections, animations and much more.

Current
More info…

Part of Gale Virtual Reference Library.

2004
More info…

Contributors are scholars and specialists in health-realted fields. 

2008-present
More info…

Provides full text access to more than 540 scholarly journals and citations with abstracts to 800 other magazines and health care publications.

1984-present
More info…

Via ISI Web of Knowledge...MEDLINE contains over 12 million records and indexes 3,500+ journals published internationally.

1950-present
More info…

Derived from real human data, this range of software provides thousands of 3D anatomical structures, clinical slides, dissections, animations and much more.

Current
More info…

This database includes journals and magazines covering health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.

1971-present
More info…

ProQuest Health & Medical Complete provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE® indexin

1981-present
More info…

ProQuest Health Management provides access for around 800 key journals in the field of health administration.

1911-present
More info…

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 journal titles, with over 715 titles in full-text.

1976-present
More info…

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association, contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.

1887-present
More info…