Databases for History

Having trouble accessing a database? Report a problem.

Database Description Coverage

Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations. Covers U.S. and Canadian history.

1955-present
More info…

Provides citations with abstracts to over 1,700 journals,book and media reviews, and dissertations.

1955-present
More info…

JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of academic journals (over 1,000) in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines.

Coverage is the beginning of the journal until two to five years ago.
More info…

Project Muse provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more in the humanities and social sciences.

1996-present
More info…

Digital facsimile images for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. Each newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

1800-1899
More info…

19th Century UK Periodicals covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world.

1800-1900
More info…

African American Archives provides over one million pages of original historical documents pertaining to the African American experience.

1672-1941
More info…

This collection was developed with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) as part of an effort to preserve serials related to African American religious life and culture.

1829-1922
More info…

Primary sources for such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more.

1827-1998
More info…

Commercial and governmental news, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

1500s-present
More info…

Sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, this collection of documents brings to life American history from the times of the earliest settlers until the end of World War II.

1493-1945
More info…

American Indian Histories and Cultures is a wide-ranging digital resource presenting a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest con

1493-2010
More info…

Ancestry® Library Edition, delivers billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more.

1300-present
More info…

The Archive of Americana features over 1,375 newspaper titles from all 50 states, more than 100,000 books, broadsides and pamphlets, and much more.

1639-1980
More info…

The three major types of documents in this database are monographs of books and pamphlets, manuscripts, and newspapers and periodicals.

1500-present
More info…

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection Series 1 presents a collection of historical content pertaining to U.S.

1700s-1960
More info…

The Berg Fashion Library offers fully cross-searchable access to a range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion onlin

1600-present
More info…

The International Medieval Bibliography comprises 365,000 articles, all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location, and provide full bibliographical records.

300-1500
More info…

British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.

11th Century - 19th Century
More info…

C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, and Poole's Index.

19th Century
More info…

This collection provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China’s interaction with the West.

1793-1980
More info…

Colonial America will consist of all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London.

1606-1822
More info…

Credo Reference provides access to hundreds of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations) from over 70 academic publishers.

2000-present
More info…

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains  virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere.

1473-1700
More info…

The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2003.

1843-2003
More info…

A variety of materials is included—from books and broadsides, Bibles, tract books and sermons to printed ephemera—with works by many well-known and lesser-known authors.

1700-1799
More info…

Empire Online contains primary source documents that span five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires.

1492-2007
More info…

English Historical Documents is a comprehensive, annotated collection of over 5,000 documents on British history.

500-1914
More info…

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

1990-present
More info…

FBIS Daily Reports include English-language, full-text broadcasts and news transcripts—translated as needed—from around the world.

1941-1996
More info…

This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history.

10200 BCE-present
More info…

The International Medieval Bibliography comprises 365,000 articles, all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location, and provide full bibliographical records.

300-1500
More info…

The library's subscription includes the following databases:

400-1700
More info…

Latin American Newspapers provides access to more than 280 Latin American newspapers published between 1805 and 1922. Featuring titles from 20 countries in the region.

1805-1922
More info…

The Making of the Modern World digital collection presents more than 65,000 titles from the period 1460-1914, and 466 pre-1906 serials.

1450-1914
More info…

Nineteenth Century Collections Online focuses on primary source collections including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.

1796-1910
More info…

A free, online scholarly edition of six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers.

1806-1890
More info…

C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, and Poole's Index.

19th Century
More info…

North American Women's Letters and Diaries (NWLD)  includes the immediate experiences of 1,017 women, as revealed in approximately 150,000 pages of diaries and letters, and manuscripts.

Colonial to 1950
More info…

Oxford Digital Reference provides access to nearly 100 online encyclopedias covering history and culture, literature and language, arts, law, and the social sciences.

Ancient world to present
More info…

A selection of nearly 250 PBS programs, including films from award winning documentarian Ken Burns, and series such as Scientific American Frontiers, American Experience, and Frontline.

1990s-
More info…

Offers full-text and full-image articles for 13 large American daily newspapers and two daily British Newspapers (The Guardian and The Observer)

1764-2005
More info…

This collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.

1500-1926
More info…

The USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive allows users to search through and view more than 54,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide.

1915-present
More info…

Slavery and Anti-Slavery is a thematically organized, historical archive devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective.

1490-1896
More info…

Online primary source materials including manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and other documents for the study of slavery, abolition and social justice.

1490 - 2007
More info…

Provides access to over 3 million pages of 16th- & 17th-century British government documents and over 200,000 searchable pages of Calendars and catalogues.

1509-1714
More info…

The Times Digital Archive (London) provides access to the entire newspaper, with all news articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos, editorial and commentary, and features.

1785-2011
More info…