Databases for Religion

Having trouble accessing a database? Report a problem.

Database Description Coverage

Provides citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from three ATLA print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and

1908-present
More info…

Texts from six Oxford Bibles (New Oxford Annotated Bible, Augmented Third Edition [NRSV], Oxford Study Bible [REB], Jewish Study Bible [TANAKH], Catholic Study Bible, Second Edition [NAB], Access

1720 BCE-638 CE
More info…

Provides citations with abstracts to scholarly research in philosophy. Over 620 journals are covered, with 80 percent of the records from journals and 20 percent from books.

1940-present
More info…

ProQuest Religion provides access to 250 scholarly journals, with most titles available in full text.

1986-present
More info…

Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals, including more than 7,300 peer reviewed titles. Indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 12,500 journals.

1980-present
More info…

This collection was developed with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) as part of an effort to preserve serials related to African American religious life and culture.

1829-1922
More info…

Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations. Covers U.S. and Canadian history.

1955-present
More info…

Provides citations to articles and essays from over 1,000 journals, monographic series, reports, commentaries, and review essays.

19th century-present
More info…

ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 consists of titles from the 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions with the majority of titles from the 19th century.

1300s-1893
More info…

ATLA Historical Monographs: Series 2 offers material on the significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans and the growing interest and experimentation with non-Western religions.

1894-1922
More info…

Provides citations with abstracts to over 1,700 journals,book and media reviews, and dissertations.

1955-present
More info…

JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of academic journals (over 1,000) in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines.

Coverage is the beginning of the journal until two to five years ago.
More info…

MLA covers folklore, languages, linguistics, and literature. Provides over one million citations for items from more than 4,400 journals and series published worldwide.

1926-present
More info…

Each handbook takes an aspect of its discipline, explaining the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and setting the agenda for how those debates might evolve.

2000-present
More info…

Sociological Abstracts indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines.

1952-present
More info…

Contains over 50 million records cataloged by OCLC member libraries throughout the world: Appalachian State University Library is a member (OCLC member code=NJB).

1000 BC-present
More info…