Databases for Social Work

Having trouble accessing a database? Report a problem.

Database Description Coverage

Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, the Encyclopedia of Social Work is widely considered the cornerstone of reference in its field.

2008-present
More info…

ProQuest Social Science Journals provides access to over 1,000 scholarly journal titles, with around 700 available in full text.

1980-present
More info…

Social Services Abstracts indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.

1979-present
More info…

Coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals.

1977-present
More info…

Contains more than 11,000 academic jounals, the majority in full text and peer-reviewed, and podcasts and transcripts from major news sources.

1980-present
More info…

Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals, including more than 7,300 peer reviewed titles. Indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 12,500 journals.

1980-present
More info…

Covers 600 journals, books, book chapters, reports, dissertations, consumer guides, and educational videos focusing on the subject of aging and middle-aged and older adults.

1978-present (selected coverage 1966-1977)
More info…

Provides access to actual therapy sessions, re-enacted therapy sessions, and scripted sessions designed by counseling professionals to illustrate common issues and scenarios.

Current
More info…

Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.

1972-present
More info…

LGBT provides full text access to over 130 journals, indexing for 200 more, as well as access to more than 170 full-text monographs/books including Classics in Lesbian Studies, Gay Sc

1990s-present
More info…

Multidisplinary database with access to nearly 20,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers.

1905-present
More info…

ProQuest Sociology provides access to the full-text of more than 310 journals in sociology and social work.

1985-present
More info…

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association, contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.

1887-present
More info…

Sage Knowledge provides full text access to more than 150 social science encyclopedias and over 100 handbooks.

1994-present
More info…

Part of Web of Science, the Social Sciences Citation Index provides indexing for more than 1,950 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines.

1900-present
More info…

Sociological Abstracts indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines.

1952-present
More info…

Contains over 50 million records cataloged by OCLC member libraries throughout the world: Appalachian State University Library is a member (OCLC member code=NJB).

1000 BC-present
More info…