University Libraries

Databases for Sociology

  1. Home
  2. Research
  3. Databases
  4. Databases for Sociology

Best Bets

JSTOR
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
More info
Social Science Database (ProQuest)
Provides access to over 1,000 scholarly journal titles, with around 700 available in full text, across a wide range of social science disciplines.
More info
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines, providing abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications.
More info
Sociology Database (ProQuest)
Provides access to the full text of more than 310 journals in sociology and social work.
More info

Also Useful

Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
More info
Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide researchers to the principal contributions of their field.
More info
Anthropology Plus
Provides citations to articles and essays from over 1,000 journals, monographic series, reports, commentaries, and review essays.
Access Note: 
Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
More info
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA)‎
ASSIA is designed to serve the information needs of the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education, and related areas.
More info
Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle (NAACP Papers)
Internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices of the NAACP.
More info
Credo Reference
Provides access to hundreds of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations) from over 70 academic publishers.
More info
Exploring Race in Society
Covers important issues related to race in society today.
More info
Gender Studies Database
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship; includes journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, dissertations, and other sources.
More info
ICPSR
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data.
More info
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and books dating back to 1951, primarily covering anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.
More info
LGBTQ+ Source
Full text access to over 130 journals, indexing for 200 more, as well as access to more than 170 full-text monographs/books on LGBTQ+ topics.
More info
ProQuest Central
Multidisplinary database with access to nearly 20,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers.
More info
Roper iPoll
Archives datasets from thousands of surveys with national adult, state, foreign, and special subpopulation samples.
More info
Sage Knowledge
Full text access to more than 200 encyclopedias and over 100 handbooks in the social sciences and related subjects.
More info
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Lets you search the holdings of thousands of libraries using precision search features, view detailed results, and link to University Libraries' holdings.
More info