Databases by type: Images, Music and Video

Having trouble accessing a database? Report a problem.

Database Description Coverage

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.

1840's-2010
More info…

Allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys.

pre-1960
More info…

Alexander Street Press is a publisher of online collections and videos for scholarly research, teaching, and learning.

1860-present
More info…

American Consumer Culture provides a unique insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to market research reports and supporting documents.

1935-1965
More info…

Commercial and governmental news, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

1500s-present
More info…

Sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, this collection of documents brings to life American history from the times of the earliest settlers until the end of World War II.

1493-1945
More info…

Allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys.

pre-1960
More info…

Allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys.

pre-1960
More info…

Derived from real human data, this range of software provides thousands of 3D anatomical structures, clinical slides, dissections, animations and much more.

Current
More info…

These collections consist of rare and historic material and are made available through the efforts of Belk Library and the departments of Special Collections, Web Services, and University Archives

1889-present
More info…

The collection currently contains over one million images, including the following collections (see the info page):

Prehistory to the present
More info…

The Berg Fashion Library offers fully cross-searchable access to a range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion onlin

1600-present
More info…

Classical Music Library is a fully searchable classical music resource—a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings.

Medieval to present
More info…

Contemporary World Music will contain 50,000 tracks that deliver the sounds of all regions of the world.

20th Century
More info…

Provides access to actual therapy sessions, re-enacted therapy sessions, and scripted sessions designed by counseling professionals to illustrate common issues and scenarios.

Current
More info…

Dance in Video contains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.

20th Century-present
More info…

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

12th Century-present
More info…

DigitalNC is the online home for materials presented by the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center.

1800s-present
More info…

Docuseek2 provides exclusive educational streaming access to documentary and social issues films.

2002-present
More info…

DRAM provides on-demand streaming access to CD-quality audio (192kbps Mp4), complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives.

1800's-present
More info…

Empire Online contains primary source documents that span five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires.

1492-2007
More info…

Films On Demand provides over 21,000 high quality streaming video on a wide-variety of topics.

1900-present
More info…

This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history.

10200 BCE-present
More info…

The current release (2013) includes 10,752 albums and 133,660 tracks.

1920s-present
More info…

Music & Performing Arts combines music audio and video that spans all time periods, and includes hundreds of thousands of seminal artists.

Medieval to present
More info…

Contains nearly 1,000 hours of classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video.

Medieval-present
More info…

An international index to choral scores for documentary research and pedagogy.

12th century-present
More info…

Featuring the complete archive of the magazine to the mid-1990s, National Geographic Magazine Archive, includes every page and every photograph, available for fulltext searching, reading,

1888-1994
More info…

Limited to 10 simultaneous users

Naxos Music Library is a comprehensive collection of classical music available online.

1150-present
More info…

Limited to 7 simultaneous users

Naxos Music Library Jazz offers close to 60,000 tracks of jazz from over 5,200 albums, with over 7,000 jazz artists represented.

1900's-present
More info…

Limited to 5 simultaneous users

Naxos Video Library brings you an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries.

1990-present
More info…

The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other communities.

1897-present
More info…

Opera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.

Renaissance-Present
More info…

A selection of nearly 250 PBS programs, including films from award winning documentarian Ken Burns, and series such as Scientific American Frontiers, American Experience, and Frontline.

1990s-
More info…

Popular Music Library contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music.

1905-present
More info…

Derived from real human data, this range of software provides thousands of 3D anatomical structures, clinical slides, dissections, animations and much more.

Current
More info…

Rock's Backpages is the ultimate archive of music journalism, with over 24,000 articles on artists from Aaliyah to ZZ Top, on all genres from rockabilly to hip hop.

1960's-present
More info…

The USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive allows users to search through and view more than 54,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide.

1915-present
More info…

The latest release of Smithsonian Global Sound (2013) includes 2,949 albums, equalling 42,405 tracks.

20th century
More info…