Databases for Africana Studies

Best Bets

Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations
Provides citations with abstracts to over 1,700 journals,book and media reviews, and dissertations
MLA covers folklore, languages, linguistics, and literature
This database contains full text articles from over 500 scholarly journals and indexing and abstracts from 2,900 journal titles

Also Useful

Collection of ebooks covering history and literary criticism
African American Archives provides over one million pages of original historical documents pertaining to the African American experience
Focuses predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St
This collection was developed with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) as part of an effort to preserve serials related to African American religious life and culture
Primary sources for such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history, ethnic studies, and more
Includes more than 1,000 U
Sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, this collection of documents brings to life American history from the times of the earliest settlers until the end of World War II
Provides citations to articles and essays from over 1,000 journals, monographic series, reports, commentaries, and review essays
Access Note: 
Limited to 5 simultaneous users
The Archive of Americana features over 1,375 newspaper titles from all 50 states, more than 100,000 books, broadsides and pamphlets, and much more
Access Note: 
Now part of Readex AllSearch
Art Abstracts indexes over 400 English and foreign-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins
More than two million art images for non-profit educational use from numerous art, architecture, and anthropology collections. See "more info" for a collection list.
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to 1975
The Digital Library on American Slavery offers a searchable collection of public records concerning enslavement
Empire Online contains primary source documents that span five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires
English-language, full-text broadcasts and news transcripts—translated as needed—from around the world
An interdisciplinary academic collection devoted to the study of the history, culture, and politics of Black Americans covering the tumultuous period from 1900 to present day
Core scholarly journals, ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads
Provides citations, with some abstracts, to more than 3,000 sources including articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, and book chapters about public affairs
Full-text and full-image articles for 13 large American daily newspapers and two daily British newspapers
Thematically organized, historical archive devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective
Online primary source materials including manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and other documents for the study of slavery, abolition and social justice
More than 3000 albums and 45,000 tracks representing musical trditions from all over the globe
Sociological Abstracts indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines