Databases for Biology

Best Bets

Provides indexing and citation analysis for over 20,000 journals from a wide range of disciplines
Full text journal articles on agriculture, ecology, renewable energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, environmental technology, law, and policy, and more
Bibliographic citations with abstracts derived from over 5,000 life sciences research journals published worldwide

Also Useful

The ACSESS Digital Library is a complete collection of all content published by the American Society of Agronomy, Crop Science Society of America, and Soil Science Society of America
Describes materials acquired by the National Agriculture Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions
Provides full text access to over 1,100 scholarly journals, trade journals, and reports representing all major environmental science topics
Biological Science Database provides access to nearly 400 journals, with more than 325 available in full text
Provides full text access to more than 250 reference sources, primarily encyclopedias
Access Note: 
(formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Scholarly and general interest journals, as well as government documents and reports
Core scholarly journals, ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads
Citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences
Access Note: 
This resource is freely available from the Internet. The Linkout feature, which is marked with an icon, provides access to the full-text of journals subscribed to by the Appalachian State University Library.
Full text access to more than 1,200 journals from the Elsevier Science journal collection, indexing for 1,300 more
Covers all areas of chemistry, including organic, inorganic, biochemistry, applied chemistry, and chemical engineering
Access Note: 
You must register. Create an account with your @appstate.edu address. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
Provides full text access to more than 1,500 peer reviewed journals in a wide variety of academic discplines
The world’s leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology