Databases for Communication

Best Bets

Indexes scholarly journals and books in the communications-related disciplines.
CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for more than 620 journals (over 500 in full text), and selected coverage of nearly 200 more.
Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association, contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations

Also Useful

Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
Insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to market research reports and supporting documents
The AP Stylebook is an American English grammar style and usage guide created by journalists working for or connected with the Associated Press journalism cooperative.
Provides access to hundreds of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations) from over 70 academic publishers.
Holdings for Appalachian State, UNC-Asheville, and Western Carolina University
Newspaper Source Plus provides full text coverage for 730 national & international newspapers
Online access to 30,000+ technical books, videos, interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths, and audio books from O'Reilly & Associates and other publishers
Access Note: 
From "Select your institution," choose "Institution not listed" and enter your App State e-mail, or log in with an existing account.
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology
Sage Knowledge provides full text access to more than 200 social science encyclopedias and over 100 handbooks
Sociological Abstracts indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines
Provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data on advertisers and advertising agencies
Access Note: 
Formerly Advertising Red Books
Over 50 million library catalog records from libraries throughout the world