Databases for Images, Music, and Video

Best Bets

Presents multiple aspects of the African American community, focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.
Online collections and videos for scholarly research, teaching, and learning. Includes American History in Video, Counseling and Therapy in Video, Dance in Video, and Music Online.
Insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to market research reports and supporting documents
More than 7,000 videos including commercial and governmental news, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, this collection of primary source documents brings to life American history from the times of the earliest settlers until the end of World War II.
Allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past.
Derived from real human data, this range of software provides thousands of 3D anatomical structures, clinical slides, dissections, animations and much more.
Rare and historic material digitized by Appalachian State University Libraries.
More than two million art images for non-profit educational use from numerous art, architecture, and anthropology collections. See "more info" for a collection list.
Cross-searchable access to Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion and other fashion-related e-books, reference works, images, and more.
Collections range from digitized manuscripts (Beowulf and Leonardo da Vinci’s Notebook) and illuminated manuscripts, to an extensive collection of maps from around the world.
A rich collection of influential performances and documentaries spanning eras and demonstrating classical music’s dynamic evolution.
Distinguished classical recordings (approximately 100,000 albums) that users can listen to online.
Contains over 3.5 million music tracks that deliver the sounds of all regions of the world.
Provides access to actual therapy sessions, re-enacted therapy sessions, and scripted sessions designed by counseling professionals to illustrate common issues and scenarios.
Contains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.
Brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
Gives access to over 600 award-winning productions and a wealth of related study materials.
Digital versions of primary sources from cultural heritage institutions around North Carolina.
Provides exclusive educational streaming access to documentary and social issues films.
Contains primary source documents that span five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires.
Provides over 21,000 high quality streaming videos on a wide variety of topics, including award-winning documentaries, interviews, and instructional and vocational training videos.
Brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history.
Largest and most comprehensive collection of jazz available online with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
A kid-safe, advertisement-free media platform with over 9,000 titles and 12,000 segments from producers like PBS and Reading Rainbow.
Kanopy provides educational streaming access to over 27,000 documentaries and critically acclaimed films.
Access Note: 
Click red button to "Visit the App State Collection" and then "Log in to App State."
Metropolitan Opera On Demand includes more than 800 full-length Met performances
Combines music, audio, and video that spans all time periods, and includes hundreds of thousands of seminal artists
Nine collections of music recordings (over 14 million tracks) and performance videos (over 3,600) from Alexander Street Press, including classical, jazz, folk, world, and popular music and dance
An international index to choral scores for documentary research and pedagogy
Complete archive of the magazine to the mid-1990s, includes every page and every photograph
Comprehensive collection of classical music, contemporary jazz, world, folk, adult contemporary, Chinese, pop and rock music
Access Note: 
Limited to 10 simultaneous users
More than 5000 jazz albums representing 7000+ jazz artists
Access Note: 
Limited to 15 simultaneous users
Extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries
Access Note: 
Limited to 5 simultaneous users
Videos include documentaries, historical events, educational and ephermeral topics, and lectures.
Opera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries
Organ Cinema is an ever-expanding filmed encyclopedia of the organ and its history and repertoire, created by Fugue State Films and the Royal College of Organists
Popular Music Library contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music
Search through and view more than 54,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide
More than 3000 albums and 45,000 tracks representing musical trditions from all over the globe
Streaming library of feature films, documentaries and foreign films from the largest movie studios