Databases for Primary Sources

Best Bets

Collection of ebooks covering history and literary criticism, including a large collection of narratives by enslaved people.
African American Archives provides over one million pages of original historical documents pertaining to the African American experience.
Presents multiple aspects of the African American community, focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.
Documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922.
Provides primary sources for such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary, and social history, ethnic studies, and more.
Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Provides more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
A comprehensive historical collection of primary source materials that covers American history, literature, culture and daily life.
Includes more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
Primary source materials printed between 1760 and 1900 that range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War to theatre programs and menus.
Insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to market research reports and supporting documents.
More than 17,800 titles written by Americans from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I.
More than 7,000 videos including commercial and governmental news, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, this collection of primary source documents brings to life American history from the times of the earliest settlers until the end of World War II.
Covers over 1,100 periodicals published between 1740 and 1940.
Contains over 6,000 numbered publications from 1789 to 1838, largely Congressional, but also containing Executive Department materials.
Features over 1,375 newspaper titles from all 50 states, more than 100,000 books, broadsides and pamphlets, and much more.
Access Note: 
Now part of Readex AllSearch.
ArchiveGrid connects you with primary source material held in archives, special collections, and manuscript collections around the world.
Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents.
Presents a collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture. Content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).
Consists of titles from the 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions, focused on religion and theology.
Offers material on the significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans and the growing interest and experimentation with non-Western religions from 1894 to 1922.
Nearly 1,300 volumes of primary and secondary content relating to British and Irish history, and histories of empire and the British world.
Collections range from digitized manuscripts (Beowulf and Leonardo da Vinci’s Notebook) and illuminated manuscripts, to an extensive collection of maps from around the world.
Delivers a wide range of local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries.
Presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works.
Indexes millions of nineteenth-century articles, books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers, and archives.
This collection provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China’s interaction with the West.
Internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices of the NAACP.
Colonial America consists of all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London.
Provides indexing of many Congressional publications from 1789 to the present, including Hearings, Committee Prints, Research Reports, Legislative Histories, and more.
Offers a searchable collection of public records concerning enslavement.
Brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
Digital versions of primary sources from cultural heritage institutions around North Carolina.
Consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides depicting every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.
Full-text access to 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early years of the 19th century.
Virtually every work printed before 1700 in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere.
Unique collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London.
Complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2015.
Eighteenth century books and broadsides, Bibles, tract books and sermons, printed ephemera, and more.
Contains primary source documents that span five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires.
Comprehensive, annotated collection of over 5,000 documents on British history.
Provides access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
Access Note: 
On-campus access only.
English-language full-text broadcasts and news transcripts—translated as needed—from around the world.
An interdisciplinary academic collection devoted to the study of the history, culture, and politics of Black Americans covering the tumultuous period from 1900 to present day.
A research and learning platform that allows students and researchers to apply natural language processing tools to raw text data (OCR text) from all of Gale's primary source collections.
Search across a range of historical newspaper and periodical collections spanning 400 years.
Gale Primary Sources searches 18th Century Collections Online (ECCO), 19th Century Collections Online (NCCO), the Making of the Modern World, and Sabin Americana.
Includes primary sources for the study of gender history, women’s suffrage, the feminist movement and the men’s movement.
Brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history.
Digitized editions of Harper's Weekly from 1857 to 1877, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper.
Find your ancestors, trace their paths across America, and learn what life was like in the areas where they settled.
Presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact.
Provides access to more than 280 Latin American newspapers published between 1805 and 1922.
Contains the complete cover-to-cover paper for every issue, with full-page and article images in PDF format.
A digital collection of primary sources covering the history of Western trade.
Explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe, and Asia to the New World and Australasia.
This collection consists of the diaries, journals, and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans, and travelers.
Contains the complete paper cover-to-cover of every issue prior to 2016, with full-page and article images in PDF format.
Focuses on primary source collections including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
A free, online scholarly edition of six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers.
Digital facsimile images for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.
Covers the events, lives, values, and themes that shaped the 19th century world.
Primary sources on the experiences of over 1,000 North American women as revealed in approximately 150,000 pages of diaries, letters, and manuscripts.
Contains 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 North Carolina county newspapers.
Develops, collects, catalogues, and preserves electronic literary and linguistic resources for use in higher education, in research, teaching, and learning.
Complete facsimile images of over 230 manuscripts written or compiled by women living in the British Isles during the 16th and 17th centuries.
This collection provides insight on fringe groups from both the right and left of the political spectrum through rare, hard to access primary sources.
Offers full text and full image articles for 13 large American daily newspapers and two daily British newspapers.
A streamlined platform for efficiently searching across Readex's historical collections: books, pamphlets, newspapers, government documents, and more.
Traces the history and unique character of religious movements that originated in or were re-shaped by the U.S. during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s.
Represents the largest single collection of seventeenth and eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library.
Thematically organized, historical archive devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective.
Online primary source materials including manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps, and other documents for the study of slavery, abolition, and social justice.
Provides access to the papers of the British Secretary of State from 1509 to 1782, concerning administration of the country, foreign affairs, marriage alliances, treaties, and wars.
The Times Digital Archive (London) provides access to the entire newspaper including all illustrations and photos.
Provides full text access to every page of every issue of the TLS from 1902 to 2012, including 300,000 book reviews, film reviews, and more.
Contains House and Senate Documents and House and Senate Reports, usually from congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation.
The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news (1889-1994).
Newspaper known for its national political coverage, international reporting, and investigative reporting (1877-1995).
Includes original documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire, and colonial territories, and a finding aid to women's studies resources in The National Archives at Kew.
Presents primary source materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society.