Databases for Religion

Best Bets

Citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from ATLA's Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR).
Citations with abstracts of scholarly research in philosophy and ethics
ProQuest Religion provides access to 250 scholarly journals, with most titles available in full text

Also Useful

Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
Documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922.
Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
Provides citations to articles and essays from over 1,000 journals, monographic series, reports, commentaries, and review essays.
Access Note: 
Limited to 5 simultaneous users
Journal database covering art, architecture, design, history, philosopy, music, literature, theater, and more.
Consists of titles from the 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions, focused on religion and theology.
Offers material on the significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans and the growing interest and experimentation with non-Western religions from 1894 to 1922.
Provides citations with abstracts to over 1,700 journals, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
Indexes journal articles, books, and other resources on folklore, languages, linguistics, and literature.
Each handbook takes an aspect of its discipline, explaining the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and setting the agenda for how those debates might evolve
Religions of America traces the history and unique character of religious movements that originated in or were re-shaped by the US during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries
Sociological Abstracts indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines
Over 50 million library catalog records from libraries throughout the world