Databases for Theatre and Dance

Having trouble accessing a database? Report a problem.

Database Description Coverage

Dance in Video contains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.

20th Century-present
More info…

This database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 260 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 100 of the indexed journals.

1990s-present
More info…

JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of academic journals (over 1,000) in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines.

Coverage is the beginning of the journal until two to five years ago.
More info…

MLA covers folklore, languages, linguistics, and literature. Provides over one million citations for items from more than 4,400 journals and series published worldwide.

1926-present
More info…

Contains more than 11,000 academic jounals, the majority in full text and peer-reviewed, and podcasts and transcripts from major news sources.

1980-present
More info…

Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals, including more than 7,300 peer reviewed titles. Indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 12,500 journals.

1980-present
More info…

Includes more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.

1690-1922
More info…

The collection currently contains over one million images, including the following collections (see the info page):

Prehistory to the present
More info…

The Berg Fashion Library offers fully cross-searchable access to a range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion onlin

1600-present
More info…

This database includes extensive descriptions of 4,500+ literary works including theses, dissertations, journal articles, conference proceedings and other reports.

1926-present
More info…

Covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items.

1973-present
More info…

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 370 publications (and selected coverage for nearly 300 publications), as

Coverage varies
More info…

The library's subscription includes the following databases:

400-1700
More info…

Loeb Classical Library is a fully searchable, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature with English translations.

800 BC - 1000 AD
More info…

Limited to 10 simultaneous users

Naxos Music Library is a comprehensive collection of classical music available online.

1150-present
More info…

Limited to 5 simultaneous users

Naxos Video Library brings you an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries.

1990-present
More info…

Project Muse provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more in the humanities and social sciences.

1996-present
More info…

Offers full-text and full-image articles for 13 large American daily newspapers and two daily British Newspapers (The Guardian and The Observer)

1764-2005
More info…

The latest release of Smithsonian Global Sound (2013) includes 2,949 albums, equalling 42,405 tracks.

20th century
More info…