Databases by type: Primary Sources

Having trouble accessing a database? Report a problem.

Database Description Coverage

Digital facsimile images for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. Each newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

1800-1899
More info…

19th Century UK Periodicals covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world.

1800-1900
More info…

African American Archives provides over one million pages of original historical documents pertaining to the African American experience.

1672-1941
More info…

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.

1840's-2010
More info…

This collection was developed with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) as part of an effort to preserve serials related to African American religious life and culture.

1829-1922
More info…

Primary sources for such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more.

1827-1998
More info…

Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

1750-1900
More info…

Provides more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.

1800-1922
More info…

A comprehensive historical collection of primary source materials that covers American history, literature, culture and daily life.

1639-1900
More info…

Includes more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.

1690-1922
More info…

Offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.

1760-1900
More info…

American Consumer Culture provides a unique insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to market research reports and supporting documents.

1935-1965
More info…

Sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, this collection of documents brings to life American history from the times of the earliest settlers until the end of World War II.

1493-1945
More info…

American Indian Histories and Cultures is a wide-ranging digital resource presenting a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest con

1493-2010
More info…

Covers over 1,100 periodicals published between 1740 and 1900.

1740-1900
More info…

Over 4,000 slave narratives by surname, location, age. Includes related sources, categorized by type. Also includes archives of Folk Culture Sound Recordings.

Narratives collected 1936-1938
More info…

Republication of approximately 6,280 numbered publications, largely Congressional, but also containing Executive Department materials issued from 1832-1861.

1789-1838
More info…

The Archive of Americana features over 1,375 newspaper titles from all 50 states, more than 100,000 books, broadsides and pamphlets, and much more.

1639-1980
More info…

ArchiveGrid connects you with primary source material held in archives, special collections, and manuscript collections around the world.

1800's-present
More info…

The three major types of documents in this database are monographs of books and pamphlets, manuscripts, and newspapers and periodicals.

1500-present
More info…

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection Series 1 presents a collection of historical content pertaining to U.S.

1700s-1960
More info…

Gale Primary Sources searches 18th Century Collections Online (ECCO)19th Century Collections Online (NCCO), the Making of the Modern World

1500-1926
More info…

ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 consists of titles from the 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions with the majority of titles from the 19th century.

1300s-1893
More info…

ATLA Historical Monographs: Series 2 offers material on the significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans and the growing interest and experimentation with non-Western religions.

1894-1922
More info…

British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.

11th Century - 19th Century
More info…

British Literary Manuscripts Online presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works.

1150-1900
More info…

Two collections, the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and British Library Newspapers (1780-1950), make up the British Newspapers 1600-1950 database.

1600-1950
More info…

C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, and Poole's Index.

19th Century
More info…

This collection provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China’s interaction with the West.

1793-1980
More info…

Colonial America will consist of all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London.

1606-1822
More info…

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

12th Century-present
More info…

DigitalNC is the online home for materials presented by the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center.

1800s-present
More info…

Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans, Early American Imprints consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides.

1639-1800
More info…

Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early years of the 19th century.

1801-1819
More info…

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains  virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere.

1473-1700
More info…

The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2003.

1843-2003
More info…

A variety of materials is included—from books and broadsides, Bibles, tract books and sermons to printed ephemera—with works by many well-known and lesser-known authors.

1700-1799
More info…

Empire Online contains primary source documents that span five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires.

1492-2007
More info…

English Historical Documents is a comprehensive, annotated collection of over 5,000 documents on British history.

500-1914
More info…

Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans, Early American Imprints consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides.

1639-1800
More info…

FBIS Daily Reports include English-language, full-text broadcasts and news transcripts—translated as needed—from around the world.

1941-1996
More info…

Gale NewsVault searches across a range of historical newspaper and periodical collections. It includes over ten million page images spanning four hundred years.

1604-2006
More info…

Gale Primary Sources searches 18th Century Collections Online (ECCO)19th Century Collections Online (NCCO), the Making of the Modern World

1500-1926
More info…

This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history.

10200 BCE-present
More info…

Harper's Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper

1857-1877
More info…

Researchers can use HeritageQuest Online to find their ancestors, trace their paths across America, and learn what life was like in the areas where they settled.

1700's-present
More info…

Latin American Newspapers provides access to more than 280 Latin American newspapers published between 1805 and 1922. Featuring titles from 20 countries in the region.

1805-1922
More info…

Contains the complete paper cover-to-cover of every issue, with full-page and article images in PDF format.

1881-1986
More info…

The Making of the Modern World digital collection presents more than 65,000 titles from the period 1460-1914, and 466 pre-1906 serials.

1450-1914
More info…

This collection consists of the diaries, journals, and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans, and travelers.

1700-1950
More info…

Contains the complete paper cover-to-cover of every issue, with full-page and article images in PDF format.

1851-2004
More info…

Nineteenth Century Collections Online focuses on primary source collections including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.

1796-1910
More info…

A free, online scholarly edition of six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers.

1806-1890
More info…

C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, and Poole's Index.

19th Century
More info…

North American Women's Letters and Diaries (NWLD)  includes the immediate experiences of 1,017 women, as revealed in approximately 150,000 pages of diaries and letters, and manuscripts.

Colonial to 1950
More info…

Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection. 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 North Carolina county newspapers.

1764-1999
More info…

The University of Oxford Text Archive develops, collects, catalogues and preserves electronic literary and linguistic resources for use in Higher Education, in research, teaching and learning.

1500's-present
More info…

Complete facsimile images of over 230 manuscripts written or compiled by women living in the British Isle during the 16th and 17th centuries.

1500-1700
More info…

Offers full-text and full-image articles for 13 large American daily newspapers and two daily British Newspapers (The Guardian and The Observer)

1764-2005
More info…

Readex AllSearch a streamlined platform for efficiently searching across Readex's historical collections.

1690-1999
More info…

This collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.

1500-1926
More info…

Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early years of the 19th century.

1801-1819
More info…

Slavery and Anti-Slavery is a thematically organized, historical archive devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective.

1490-1896
More info…

Online primary source materials including manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and other documents for the study of slavery, abolition and social justice.

1490 - 2007
More info…

Provides access to over 3 million pages of 16th- & 17th-century British government documents and over 200,000 searchable pages of Calendars and catalogues.

1509-1714
More info…

The Times Digital Archive (London) provides access to the entire newspaper, with all news articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos, editorial and commentary, and features.

1785-2011
More info…

The TLS Historical Archive, 1902-2012 provides full-text access to every page of every issue of the TLS from 1902 to 2012, discovering a wealth of material in 300,000 book review

1902-2012
More info…

The United States Congressional Serial Set contains House and Senate Documents and House and Senate Reports.

1817-1980
More info…

Wall Street Journal; Eastern Edition

The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news.

1889-1994
More info…

The Washington Post has been known for its national political coverage, international reporting, and investigating reporting.

1877-1995
More info…