New Databases

Database Description Coverage More Info
MackinVIA

MackinVIA offers a  growing collection of eBooks for students from pre-kindergarten through grade 12.

These eBooks allow for unlimited, simultaneous as well as one book-one user access. Many eBooks are interactive and designed for struggling or reluctant readers. MackinVia Apps are available for most devices.

2000-present more info
Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities

Cabell's Directories help professors, graduate students and researchers publish their manuscripts in academic journals.

In Cabell's, you'll find current contact information, publication guidelines, type of review, number of external reviews, acceptance rate, and submission process.

Appalachian State offers access to the following:

  • Business (Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, Marketing)
  • Education (Educational Curriculum & Methods, Educational Psychology & Administration, Educational Technology & Library Science)
  • Psychology (Psychology & Psychiatry)
  • Computer Science (Computer Science - Business Information Systems)
  • Health (Health Administration, Nursing)
2013-present more info
ProQuest Central

Multidisplinary database with access to nearly 20,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers.

ProQuest Central includes access to 30 databases covering over 160 subject areas. You can choose to search individual databases or search all to find relevant results.

1905-present more info
NC LIVE Home Grown eBook Collection

Provides access to fiction and nonfiction content from North Carolina publishers.

Collection currently consists of more than 1,200 titles from eight North Carolina publishers, spanning a wide range of topics, from history and culture, to cooking and travel. The NC LIVE eBook program is a collaborative effort to bring eBooks published by North Carolina publishers to the virtual shelves of North Carolina libraries. The titles are part of NC LIVE's permanent collections, and can be read simultaneously by an unlimited number of readers.

All of the titles in the collection can be read instantly inside the browser window. For best results, users will need the latest version of Google Chrome or Safari. You can also access the collection via the BiblioBoard Library app. Available for iPad®, Kindle Fire HD®, Nexus tablets® and Galaxy Tab® (4.0+) mobile devices.

Step 1: Visit the BiblioBoard website using the link below. 
Step 2: Click on the yellow "tablet" link in the upper-right corner.
Step 3: Create your own user account.
Step 4:  Download the appropriate app and login using the account information created in step 3.

1949-present more info
Radio Directory

The Radio Directory offers data and industry contacts in the US and Canadian radio marketplace.

In print for more than seven decades as Broadcasting Yearbook, the Radio Directory contain call letters, type of station, frequency, antenna & transmitter data, phone numbers, fax numbers, address, hours of operation, station format, special programming, affiliates, advertising rates, ownership, national and regional networks, national and regional representatives, wire services and a wide range of key contacts.

2011-present more info