Databases for Film Studies

Best Bets

Indexing and abstracts for more than 370 publications as well as full text for more than 100 journals on all aspects of film & television theory, production, and reviews
Kanopy provides educational streaming access to over 27,000 documentaries and critically acclaimed films
Access Note: 
Click red button to "Visit the App State Collection" and then "Log in to App State"
MLA covers folklore, languages, linguistics, and literature
This database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 395 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 160 of the indexed journals
Streaming library of feature films, documentaries and foreign films from the largest movie studios

Also Useful

Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals, including more than 7,300 peer reviewed titles
Includes more than 1,000 U
Provides access to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations
Art Abstracts indexes over 400 English and foreign-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins
Covering content for more than 55 years of art journalism, this retrospective resource includes articles, interviews, reviews and much more from over 600 publications
More than two million art images for non-profit educational use from numerous art, architecture, and anthropology collections. See "more info" for a collection list.
Journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items
Digital Theatre+ gives access to over 600 award-winning productions and a wealth of related study materials
Provides citations with abstracts to over 1,700 journals,book and media reviews, and dissertations
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U
Full-text and full-image articles for 13 large American daily newspapers and two daily British newspapers