University Libraries

Databases for Children’s Literature

  1. Home
  2. Research
  3. Databases
  4. Databases for Children’s Literature

Best Bets

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Academic and research resource for courses needing to locate children’s and young adult books and other media.
More info
Gale Literature Resource Center
Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 150,000 writers in all disciplines.
More info
MackinVIA
Offers a growing collection of ebooks for students from pre-kindergarten through middle grades.
More info
OverDrive (Libby)
Allows faculty, students and staff to borrow ebooks and audiobooks and download them to computers and portable devices.
More info
Something About the Author
Covers the lives and works of authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults.
More info
TeachingBooks.net
Contains instructional materials for K-12 fiction and nonfiction books.
More info

Also Useful

Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
More info
Children's Core Collection
Resource for children's librarians that covers fiction and nonfiction, story collections, picture books, graphic novels, and magazines recommended for readers in preschool through 6th grade.
Access Note: 
Limited to 1 user at a time.
More info
ERIC
Index of scholarly works in the education fields; sources include journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books.
More info
Just for Kids Streaming Collection
A kid-safe, advertisement-free media platform with over 9,000 titles and 12,000 segments from producers like PBS and Reading Rainbow.
More info
Library Catalog
Holdings for Appalachian State, UNC-Asheville, and Western Carolina University.
More info
Literature Criticism Online
Modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
More info
Middle and Junior High Core Collection
For libraries serving readers in grades 5-9. Provides indispensable help with collection development and maintenance, curriculum support, readers' advisory, and general reference.
Access Note: 
Limited to 1 user at a time.
More info
Novelist Plus
Use NoveList to find a good read. Contains reviews, annotations, readalike recommendations and more for fiction and non-fiction.
More info
Senior High Core Collection
Selective list of books, more than 40,500 entries for fiction and nonfiction works, recommended for young people in grades 9-12.
Access Note: 
Limited to 1 user at a time.
More info
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Lets you search the holdings of thousands of libraries using precision search features, view detailed results, and link to University Libraries' holdings.
More info