Databases for Communication

Having trouble accessing a database? Report a problem.

Database Description Coverage

ComAbstracts primarily indexes scholarly journals but also provides some indexing of scholarly books on communication.

1937-present
More info…

CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for more than 620 journals (over 500 in full text), and selected (priority) coverage of nearly 200 more,

1915-present
More info…

Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.

1973-present
More info…

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association, contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.

1887-present
More info…

Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals, including more than 7,300 peer reviewed titles. Indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 12,500 journals.

1980-present
More info…

Access media news, search through the data center, or read special reports on the influences, decline/increase, and future of advertising.

Current
More info…

Market Research and American Business provides a unique insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to market research reports and supporting docum

1935-1965
More info…

Credo Reference provides access to hundreds of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations) from over 70 academic publishers.

2000-present
More info…

Holdings for Appalachian State, UNC-A, and Western Carolina University.

1400's-present
More info…

Newspaper Source Plus provides full text coverage for 730 national & international newspapers.

2000-present
More info…

Formerly called Safari Books Online

Online access to 30,000+ technical books, videos, interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths, and audio books from O'Reilly & Associates and other publishers.

2004-present
More info…

PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.

1894-present
More info…

Sage Knowledge provides full text access to more than 200 social science encyclopedias and over 100 handbooks.

1994-present
More info…

Sociological Abstracts indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines.

1952-present
More info…

Formerly Advertising Red Books

Provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data on advertisers and advertising agencies.

Current
More info…

Contains over 50 million records cataloged by OCLC member libraries throughout the world: Appalachian State University Library is a member (OCLC member code=NJB).

1000 BC-present
More info…