Databases for Philosophy

Having trouble accessing a database? Report a problem.

Database Description Coverage

Provides indexing for 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

1975-present
More info…

JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of academic journals (over 1,000) in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines.

Coverage is the beginning of the journal until two to five years ago.
More info…

Provides citations with abstracts to scholarly research in philosophy. Over 620 journals are covered, with 80 percent of the records from journals and 20 percent from books.

1940-present
More info…

Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals, including more than 7,300 peer reviewed titles. Indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 12,500 journals.

1980-present
More info…

Credo Reference provides access to hundreds of reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations) from over 70 academic publishers.

2000-present
More info…

Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

2006
More info…

Each handbook takes an aspect of its discipline, explaining the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and setting the agenda for how those debates might evolve.

2000-present
More info…

Project Muse provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more in the humanities and social sciences.

1996-present
More info…

Contains over 50 million records cataloged by OCLC member libraries throughout the world: Appalachian State University Library is a member (OCLC member code=NJB).

1000 BC-present
More info…