University Libraries

Databases for Education

  1. Home
  2. Research
  3. Databases
  4. Databases for Education

Best Bets

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Academic and research resource for courses needing to locate children’s and young adult books and other media.
More info
Education Source
Provides full text access for more than 1,800 journals covering all levels of education, as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands more.
More info
ERIC
Index of scholarly works in the education fields; sources include journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books.
More info
MackinVIA
Offers a growing collection of ebooks for students from pre-kindergarten through middle grades.
More info
OverDrive (Libby)
Allows faculty, students and staff to borrow ebooks and audiobooks and download them to computers and portable devices.
More info
Teacher Reference Center
Index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books.
More info

Also Useful

Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals over a wide array of academic disciplines.
More info
Chronicle of Higher Education
News, information, and job listings for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Access Note: 
Premium articles are available.
More info
Congressional Publications (ProQuest)
Provides indexing of many Congressional publications from 1789 to the present, including Hearings, Committee Prints, Research Reports, Legislative Histories, and more.
More info
Education Law in North Carolina
For North Carolina school officials and administrators, legal information pertinent to the management of schools and school systems.
More info
Educational Administration Abstracts
Covers educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and more.
More info
eLibrary Curriculum Edition
This curriculum and reference resource delivers one of the largest general reference collections of periodical and digital media content designed specifically for K-12 schools and libraries.
More info
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
A comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and prepare for job searching.
More info
Gale eBooks
Provides full text access to more than 250 reference sources, primarily encyclopedias.
More info
JSTOR
Core scholarly journals (especially back issues), ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads.
More info
Just for Kids Streaming Collection
A kid-safe, advertisement-free media platform with over 9,000 titles and 12,000 segments from producers like PBS and Reading Rainbow.
More info
LearningExpress Library Complete and PrepSTEP™ for Colleges
An eLearning platform that can help you prepare for success in school and the workplace. Includes practice GRE, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT, MAT, and Praxis tests.
Access Note: 
Users must create a personal account to fully access the resource.
More info
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
More info
Newspaper Source Plus
Provides full text coverage for 730 national and international newspapers, 16 North Carolina newspapers, and TV and radio news transcripts.
More info
Open Education North Carolina Collection
Free, open textbooks for college courses
More info
PsycINFO
Contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines.
More info
SIRS Discoverer
Designed specifically for elementary and middle school students, SIRS Discoverer offers articles, nonfiction books, images, activities, and websites.
More info
SIRS Issues Researcher
A portal to articles, primary sources, websites, and graphics to support K-12 students with research, study, and homework.
More info
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines, providing abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications.
More info