Databases for Anthropology

Having trouble accessing a database? Report a problem.

Database Description Coverage

Provides citations to articles and essays from over 1,000 journals, monographic series, reports, commentaries, and review essays.

19th century-present
More info…

Part of Web of Science, the Social Sciences Citation Index provides indexing for more than 1,950 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines.

1900-present
More info…

Contains more than 11,000 academic jounals, the majority in full text and peer-reviewed, and podcasts and transcripts from major news sources.

1980-present
More info…

Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals, including more than 7,300 peer reviewed titles. Indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 12,500 journals.

1980-present
More info…

Includes more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.

1690-1922
More info…

American Indian Histories and Cultures is a wide-ranging digital resource presenting a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest con

1493-2010
More info…

Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide researchers to the principal contributions of their field.

2007-present
More info…

Sources include books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and US and Canadian government documents.

1500s-present
More info…

Provides full text access to more than 100 reference sources, primarily encyclopedias.

2000-present
More info…

JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of academic journals (over 1,000) in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines.

Coverage is the beginning of the journal until two to five years ago.
More info…

News, business information, medical and health topics, and law-related resources

1990s-present
More info…

Holdings for Appalachian State, UNC-A, and Western Carolina University.

1400's-present
More info…

Music & Performing Arts combines music audio and video that spans all time periods, and includes hundreds of thousands of seminal artists.

Medieval to present
More info…

Limited to 10 simultaneous users

Naxos Music Library is a comprehensive collection of classical music available online.

1150-present
More info…

Covers the New York Times late edition (East Coast) (1980-present), the New York Times Magazine (1997-present), and the New York Times Book Review (1997-present).

1980-present
More info…

Newspaper Source Plus provides full text coverage for 730 national & international newspapers.

2000-present
More info…

Offers full-text and full-image articles for 13 large American daily newspapers and two daily British Newspapers (The Guardian and The Observer)

1764-2005
More info…

Sage Knowledge provides full text access to more than 150 social science encyclopedias and over 100 handbooks.

1994-present
More info…

The latest release of Smithsonian Global Sound (2013) includes 2,949 albums, equalling 42,405 tracks.

20th century
More info…

Sociological Abstracts indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines.

1952-present
More info…

Contains over 50 million records cataloged by OCLC member libraries throughout the world: Appalachian State University Library is a member (OCLC member code=NJB).

1000 BC-present
More info…