Databases for English

Best Bets

Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 150,000 writers in all disciplines.
Modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres
MLA covers folklore, languages, linguistics, and literature

Also Useful

Provides indexing for 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals
A comprehensive online guide to book reviews that includes more than five million review citations from thousands of publications, with linking to more than 630,000 full-text reviews
Bibliographic descriptions and availability information for more than 5 million books currently in print, declared out of print, or soon to be published titles
Collections range from digitized manuscripts (Beowulf and Leonardo da Vinci’s Notebook) and illuminated manuscripts, to an extensive collection of maps from around the world
British Literary Manuscripts Online presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works
Materials from the annual Annotated Chaucer Bibliography
Each Critical Companion in this collection provides author background; character, plot, theme analysis, and a complete bibliography of books, selected reviews, and criticism
Access Note: 
Search by title: "Critical Companion"
Featuring comprehensive literary biographies, you'll find profiles of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights
Digital Theatre+ gives access to over 600 award-winning productions and a wealth of related study materials
Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, featuring over 1,200 titles
Virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere
18th century books and broadsides, Bibles, tract books and sermons, printed ephemera and more
Drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources, more than 1,250 poets are represented
All recorded English monographs printed between 1475 and 1700 are now represented in the file, as are eighty percent of the recorded serials titles for the period 1620-1800
Access Note: 
Temporarily unavailable (see https://www.bl.uk/)
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages
Indexing and abstracts for more than 370 publications as well as full text for more than 100 journals on all aspects of film & television theory, production, and reviews
Gale Literary Sources provides combined access to Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online and to Something About the Author Online
More than 130,000 full-text poems and 650,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays
The International Medieval Bibliography comprises 365,000 articles, all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location, and provide full bibliographical records
Bibliography of more than 1.45 million citations for secondary source material about the Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700.
Core scholarly journals, ebooks, and images from a range of disciplines, with full-text searching and DRM-free downloads
PrepSTEP® for Colleges is an eLearning platform that can help you prepare for success in school and the workplace
Contains full text for 31,098 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism, and nearly 140,000 author biographies
Primary source material, collateral readings, and commentary that helps students understand the historical, social, and cultural milieu associated with major literary works.
Access Note: 
Search by title: "Understanding"
Loeb Classical Library is a fully searchable, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature with English translations
Use NoveList to find a good read. Contains reviews, annotations, readalike recommendations and more for fiction and non-fiction.
Complete facsimile images of over 230 manuscripts written or compiled by women living in the British Isle during the 16th and 17th centuries
This database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 395 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 160 of the indexed journals
Project Muse provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more in the humanities and social sciences
Full-text literary works, along with sources such as author biographies, critical essays, reviews, and interviews
Lives and works of authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults
The TLS Historical Archive, 1902-2012 provides full-text access to every page of every issue of the TLS from 1902 to 2012, including 300,000 book reviews, film reviews, and more
50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including biographical information on each poet
More than 600 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day
Searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide
Over 50 million library catalog records from libraries throughout the world