Databases for Health and Medicine

Best Bets

Citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences.
Access Note: 
This resource is freely available from the Internet. The Linkout feature, which is marked with an icon, provides access to the full-text of journals subscribed to by Appalachian State University Libraries.
Provides indexing of the top nursing and allied health literature, including more than 5,000 journals.
The Cochrane Library is associated with the evidence-based practice movement in health care.
Use Google Scholar through the library to be automatically linked to the full text of articles we own.

Also Useful

Comprehensive international coverage of sport and fitness-related topics, drawn from websites, journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings.
Access Note: 
Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
AccessPhysiotherapy from McGraw-Hill Medical covers the in-depth study, instruction, and practice of physical therapy.
Derived from real human data, this range of software provides thousands of 3D anatomical structures, clinical slides, dissections, animations and much more.
Bibliography of controlled trials identified by contributors to the Cochrane Collaboration to create an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews.
Contains full text systematic review articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare.
Includes journals and magazines covering health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
Contributors are scholars and specialists in health-related fields.
Over 400 videos from leaders in the physical therapy field designed to teach exercise and rehabilitation techniques, kinetics, and physical therapy interventions.
In-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE® indexing.
A comprehensive database for health-related U.S. survey questions, covering eighty years of national polling.
Provides full text access to more than 540 scholarly journals and citations with abstracts to 800 other magazines and health care publications.
Provides access for around 800 key journals in the field of health administration.
The premier source for literature in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, and allied health, dating from 1946 to present with some earlier content. Ovid version.
Common diseases and conditions, health promotion and wellness, drugs info, medical dictionaries, and more.
Brinda información sobre enfermedades y condiciones comunes, promoción de la salud y el bienestar, información sobre medicamentos, diccionarios médicos y otros.
Medical information on disorders, symptoms, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment. For medical professionals and students.
Online guide to quality health and medical information and local health services throughout North Carolina.
NC Health Info tiene por objetivo ayudarlo a tomar decisiones informadas sobre atención médica.
Provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 healthcare-related journals, with over 715 titles in full text.
Contains over 3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines.
Search the core literature in the field of public health, including over 700 full text publications.
Support for researchers and health professionals to conduct a systematic review from anywhere in the world, facilitating 10 different types of systematic reviews from protocol to report.
Access Note: 
"Register new user" to create an account.