Databases for Art

Having trouble accessing a database? Report a problem.

Database Description Coverage

Art Abstracts indexes over 400 English and foreign-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Includes nearly 120 titles in full text.

1984-present
More info…

Covering content for more than 55 years of art journalism, this retrospective resource includes articles, interviews, reviews and much more from over 600 publications.

1929-1984
More info…

The collection currently contains over one million images, including the following collections (see the info page):

Prehistory to the present
More info…

Covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items.

1973-present
More info…

Provides full text for over 8,500 magazines and journals, including more than 7,300 peer reviewed titles. Indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 12,500 journals.

1980-present
More info…

The Archive of Americana features over 1,375 newspaper titles from all 50 states, more than 100,000 books, broadsides and pamphlets, and much more.

1639-1980
More info…

Art and Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books.

1937-present
More info…

Provides indexing for 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

1975-present
More info…

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, surveying over seven hundred American and international journal

1934-present
More info…

JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of academic journals (over 1,000) in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines.

Coverage is the beginning of the journal until two to five years ago.
More info…

Project Muse provides full text access to over 335 journals, and indexing for 200 more in the humanities and social sciences.

1996-present
More info…

Offers full-text and full-image articles for 13 large American daily newspapers and two daily British Newspapers (The Guardian and The Observer)

1764-2005
More info…